2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup: Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe Make it To The US World Cup Qualification Squad

The veteran forwards is among Vlatko Andonovski’s 23-player Concacaf W Championship lineup, which was published on Monday. The eight-team tournament, which will take place in July in Mexico, will determine four automatic berths to the 2023 FIFA Women’s World Cup and one to the 2024 Paris Olympics. Both Alex Morgan and Megan Rapinoe qualified for the US National Team.

Andonovski has nominated three alternates who will join the team for the June camp and friendly against Colombia. For the USWNT’s June 25 and 28 matches against Colombia, defender Carson Pickett, midfielder Sam Coffey, and forward Jaelin Howell will report to Colorado and Utah.

“We’ve been studying a lot of games and hours of footage since we last got together in April, and we’ve had lengthy conversations among the coaching staff to arrive at this 26-player roster for the Colombia games and the final 23 for qualifying,” Andonovski said in a statement. “The players, as always, make these decisions difficult, but we believe this is a squad that can achieve all of our goals in the four weeks we’ll be together for what we hope will be seven successful games.”

USWNT Concacaf W Championship Roster

According to Just Women’s Sports, Goalkeepers: Aubrey Kingsbury (Washington Spirit), Casey Murphy (North Carolina Courage), Alyssa Naeher (Chicago Red Stars)

Defenders: Alana Cook (OL Reign), Emily Fox (Racing Louisville FC), Naomi Girma (San Diego Wave FC), Sofia Huerta (OL Reign), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland Thorns FC), Emily Sonnett (OL Reign), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Kelley O’Hara (Washington Spirit), Becky Sauerbrunn (Portland (Washington Spirit)

Lindsey Horan (Olympique Lyon), Taylor Kornieck (San Diego Wave FC), Rose Lavelle (OL Reign), Kristie Mewis (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Ashley Sanchez (Washington Spirit), and Andi Sullivan (Washington Spirit) are among the midfielders (Washington Spirit)

Forwards: Ashley Hatch (Washington Spirit), Alex Morgan (San Diego Wave FC), Midge Purce (NJ/NY Gotham FC), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Trinity Rodman (Washington Spirit), Sophia Smith (Washington Spirit), Mallory Pugh (Chicago Red Stars), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Megan Rapinoe (OL Reign), Sophia Smith (Portland Thorns FC)